The Biscuit Barrel

Silliness, or a deep metaphor for modern angst?

A two wheeled learning experience

leave a comment »

Picture source: Velominati

It’s fairly important that i mention: I only learned how to ride a bike when I was already an adult, so I was pretty late to that party. I had a shitty mountain-bike in high-school, it had a short life, died, and then the rest of it got stolen, such things happen. After that i took a serious and dedicated break to pursue other seemingly important things in life, like getting into college, studying at college and getting on with my photography, developing a personal style and what not. But something still felt off…

At one point i started craving freedom, the ability to go where i please, i noticed something stirring deep in me as i watched road bikes going past me on the street. Something had to be done! and i was pretty certain i knew what: BIANCHI!

Several weeks and 100 euros later i was well on my way to becoming a spandex clad pedaling machine on my brand new old Bianchi Campione del Mondo. This was something i had never felt before. The smoothness of a road bike, how it floats through the streets of the city, how it glides. This was freedom, I was flying! I think that’s the time when i really got hooked, those first few days on my first road bike. I started doing longer and longer rides on my own and eventually made a few friends to go on rides with, i still talk to most of them. It’s amazing how bikes bring people together.I think I’ve only met two people in my life  that I dislike while on bike rides. And even that was easy to bear because of the enviroment.

I’ve gone through many bikes since then and am now settled with a alu/carbon Bonetti with Campagnolo bits and Marchisio wheels, but that’s not really relevant. In these two years of pedaling that I’ve done i’ve learned much from this hobby of mine, because i dare not call it a sport though I guess I understand why some people would. For me it’s much more than a pastime, but then again I take all the things I do very seriously indeed. It’s a way of life, much like photography, and from it i’ve managed to extract some important life lessons that i’d like to present to you, in no particular order:

  1. I’ve learned to enjoy solitude.
  2. I’ve learned to suffer with a smile.
  3. I’ve learned I hate headwinds.
  4. I’ve learned that there are things that can always bring people together.
  5. I’ve learned who I am, mapped some of the paths of my own mind and i have an inkling of how i work, at least in some respects.
  6. I’ve learned that motivation is everything.
  7. I’ve learned that friendship is the best thing you can ever offer anyone, and the best thing you can ever get. (sometimes it’s a metaphor made into a spare tube from a total stranger)
  8. I’ve learned that i love the rain.
  9. I’ve learned how to see beauty in the white line on the road.
  10. I’ve learned that mud is great fun, and so is getting really dirty.
  11. I’ve learned to have (some) consistency in my efforts.
  12. I’ve learned where i have to look inside me to pull out that extra bit of power and commitment, and it was a pleasant discovery to find out what exactly is in the middle of my being.
  13. I’ve learned that losing is irrelevant, all the victory you’ll ever need is knowing you did your best.
  14. I’ve learned that La Volupte is not just something that happens to other people.
  15. I’ve learned that La vie Velominati is a beautiful life.
  16. I’ve learned that sometimes you just have to be belgian about it.
  17. I’ve learned that if you don’t get going you’re never gonna get where you’re going.

Written by CyberFaust

Ianuarie 30, 2012 la 7:47 pm

Lasă un răspuns

