The Biscuit Barrel

Silliness, or a deep metaphor for modern angst?

In a dark alley

with one comment

Photo by Zorislav ''Z-Bone'' Stojanovic

It’s dark and cold on the city’s streets tonight. Autumn seemes to have made a timely arrival, covering the land with her windy veil. I can tell, she’s already wraped herself around my neck like a gealous mistress, clinging, suffocating. I hope the throat infection will dissapear soon, the coughing fits make a paranoid mind think of lots of things in the middle of the night when the only thing you share your bed with is one of them huggable pillows.

My mind returns to the streets i’m walking as an old garbage truck almost runs me over. It’s hard to think in this downpour and it’s even harder to see. The noodle stands are all closed in this district already, new laws from city central have cut down on all nightlife and all the seedy fun you can find in seedy places. I guess it’s just the price people pay to feel safer. With all the rapists and the thieves out in the rain, cussing bitterly instead of having a glass of the old cheap-and-strong going down their necks.

The rain starts getting in my shoes, the soggyness makes them no diferent from anything else i can think of at this point. It’s all soggy over here tonight, even dreams. I turn left down an alleyway. Lights dim as my eyes adjust to it quickly because i’ve closed them in the last few seconds on the well lit street, just in case any soggy surprises may be waiting for me on this rainy night. Somewhere around here my contact should be waiting for me but I came early. I set myself up in a dark corner that’s just as soggy as the damn rest and I wait. The rain goes through my trenchcoat like it’s made out of paper and i can feel my badge sticking to my chest. For a moment it’s even colder than the rain and my lonely thoughts, taking my breath away with an icy bite…damn plastic.

My contact still hasn’t showed up and i’m thankful i didn’t bring my piece with me. In times like these things that can break when wet should be left at home. Either way, interested eyes that know what to look for can see it on your shouldger and get crazy ideas, and you wouldn’t want that in this kinda town on this kinda night. The canon i usually have straped to my shoulder isn’t big enough or expensive enough for this kinda job anyway.I shrug away the creeping cold and have a fit of coughing that i feel ringing deep inside my head. I’m getting too old for…

And there she is, high heels on the cobblees ringing out in the night, her face obscured by the deeper darkness under her umbrella, she walks towards me and i reach into my pocket. She hesitates a moment but remembers herself and carries on, a real dame, this one. As she gets close i don’t say a word, distracted my her scent in the wind, dampened by the rain. I mindlessly take out the envelope in my pocket and she takes it away with a mumble, reaching for hwe own, i take it and look inside. I’m not worried, she’s not double-crossing me on this and the things in the envelopes don’t bet soggy in the rain. I nod and leave. ”Enjoy your wedding pictures.”

To be continued.

Written by CyberFaust

Octombrie 5, 2010 la 7:11 pm

Un răspuns

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. asa o fi

    valeria

    Noiembrie 28, 2010 at 6:17 am


Lasă un răspuns

